Ethics and Professionalism in PR

After reading chapter 3 of my Public Relations book, and learning more about the ethics and professionalism of the profession I have a better understanding of when and when not to do certain things. The 3 ethical orientations are Absolutist, whobelieve every decision is either right or wrong, existentialist, who base deciosions on immediate practical choice, and situationalistwho base there decision on what will cause least amount of harm or most good. I’m still very new to the PR profession, but if I were a professional now I would say my orientation leans more toward the existentialist point of view with the basing decisions on immediate practical choice. I know whatever I do I will justify my decisions made in that I satisfied the public interest, my employer, my organization’s code of ethics, and most importanly satisfy my own values.

Leave a Reply

