PR Connections :My first Media Advisory!

I was excited to finally do my first media advisory for the Department of Environmental Safety. I thought I would share it with those of you who wish to see! Please give me feedback! 🙂

Media Advisory
March 9, 2010

Contact:
Matt Cook, (706) 248-6288
Department of Environmental Safety

Monique Dipple, Head of Department of Environmental Safety at GSU, to Speak on Campus
Statesboro,Ga—Monique Dipple is expected to give a speech on the importance of environmental sustainability on the Thursday before the start of Spring Break for Georgia Southern students. The Department of Environmental Safety is hoping students will begin to form “greener habits” after attending the conference.
WHO: Monique Dipple (Head of the Department of Environmental Safety)
WHAT: Monique Dipple and the Department of Environmental safety has partnered with GSU and are dedicated to improve recycling habits and energy saving habits among students on campus. According to Monique, students will be very surprised once they hear some of the facts on the benefits of recycling and saving energy.
WHEN: Thursday, March 11, 2010 from 6:00 p.m.-7:00 p.m.
WHERE: Russell Union Ballroom on Georgia Southern campus
WHY: Students will be able to listen to Monique share her knowledge on recycling and energy saving behaviors. If the information is put into practice by the students then student fees could be lowered within the next year.

The Mission Statement of the Environmental Sustainability division of Georgia Southern University is to establish sustainable practices that meet the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs. The intent is to provide the best outcomes for the human environment and the natural environment both now and into the indefinite future.

3 Responses to “PR Connections :My first Media Advisory!”

  1. I think this is a very good media advisory. It was very smart of you to post it on your blog, too. Feedback is a great way to learn. I also like that our PR Writing class just had to do a media advisory a week ago, so this is relevant to what we are currently doing in class. You utilized the “who,” “what,” “when,” “where,” “why” well. In my opinion though the “who” and “when” should come before “what.” I also think hat sometimes the “what” and “why” could be combined to make is shorter and more concise. That is just my opinion, of course. I’m just thinking about avoiding repetition. Great post!

  2. Hi Matt! I think you’ve done a great job with your first media advisory! I wish I would have thought to put it on my blog for feedback! I’m anxious to see what kind of a grade I made.
    Anyway, the only thing I would question (and you may have done it corrently, but I would just check to be certain) is if you should refer to Monique as “Dipple” after you have already stated her full name once, like in the “why” section. I know you do this in articles, but I am not sure about media advisories.
    Overall, great job!
    -Michelle-

Leave a Reply

